Mulligan Soup Jazz Band
Nick Smith, Saxophonist -  Biography
Nick Smith, Saxophonist -  Teaching
Nick Smith, Saxophonist -  Gallery
Nick Smith, Saxophonist -  Links
Nick Smith, Saxophonist -  Mulligan Soup
Mulligan Soup

Mulligan Soup is a piano-less jazz quartet, formed in tribute to the music of Gerry Mulligan's famous 1950's recordings with Chet Baker, Bob Brookmeyer, Art Farmer and many others. 

The 'Cool' West Coast style was kick-started by Mulligan and Baker with the famous quartet concerts at The Haig, and recordings for Pacific Jazz.  

Nick Smith has diligently transcribed many of these recordings to put together a programme to authentically recreate those concerts, and recreate the ambience of those post-war boom times.

Mulligan Soup is made up of four talented professional musicians, with a wealth of experience of many different musical genres:

  • Benny Lee takes the role of Chet Baker on trumpet, typified by swinging solos and lyrical lines.
  • Stevie Smith flawlessly copies the minimalist style provided by Chico Hamilton on those first recordings.
  • John Porter makes up the third interweaving harmony as played by Bob Whitlock to tie the whole thing together, and of course....
  • Nick Smith's baritone saxophone provides the reason for the whole experience!

To make enquiries or to book Mulligan Soup for your jazz festival or event, please contact Nick Smith by clicking here.


Testimonial from a recent jazz club gig in Bradford: 

"New to the role of Organiser at Jazz at The Priestley, I confess to booking Mulligan Soup provisionally by recommendation then, having heard their demo disc, confirming eagerly. In tribute to Gerry Mulligan's piano-free Quartet of the early 50's, Mulligan Soup should not be mis-interpreted as your average 'tribute' band, they are so much more than that. 'Cool' is their music, 'red hot' is their presentation and delivery of it.  Classics such as Bernie's Tune, Walking Shoes, Line for Lyons and Jeru are not only faithfully re-presented but the virtuosity of Mulligan Soup's art gives a whole new currency even 50-odd years on.

Nick Smith (baritone sax) and Benny Lee (trumpet) freely and fluently pick-out every note or support in the background according to need to excellent effect.
John Porter's bass provides a rock-solid platform for the two front men whilst adding a beautifully smooth fluidity to general proceedings and 'runs' alike, which are of such satisfying length and form.
Stevie Smith's drumming perfectly synchronises the whole effort and, not unlike his colleagues, delivers the most masterful yet cheerful of interjections to add to the whole marvellous experience.
Add into the mix, the humour and stage presence of four guys who clearly enjoy each other's company and what they do.

Thus, whilst the piano seems to be the jazz ubiquity of today, there is so much to be said to the contrary by Mulligan Soup in their refreshing transcription of Gerry Mulligan's 'cool'.

You may be surprised, you will be pleased, you will enjoy Mulligan Soup."

  home : biography : teaching : gallery : links : mulligan soup : contact

all content is copyright© 2008 nick smith
design is copyright © 2008 john graham software